Author Topic: Crazy Horse  (Read 10365 times)

Offline HannahJ

• Newb
Crazy Horse
« on: November 02, 2014, 09:48:59 PM »
Hi,

I've just bought Crazy Horse (formerly Aquarius) and am interested in anything anyone knows about her. I know she's a Spencer 7 (though admittedly at the moment that means little to me!) and was built some time before 1976 by Barton, but apart from that... I'm also new to the class, so hi :)

Any clues?

Thanks.
Crazy Horse 1658

Offline flatbackcaper

• Former_Member
  • Apprentice Guru
Re: Crazy Horse
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2014, 08:15:54 AM »
welcome to the friendliest class on earth

Offline BenR

• Former_Member
  • Guru's Guru
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2014, 09:34:11 AM »
Welcome, I assume you have found Crazy Horse's page http://www.uk-cherub.org/doku.php/boats/1658#section1658

Not a lot of information on there but there should be someone along soon who knows something about her.

What sort of condition is she in?
2688- Atum Bom

roland_trim

« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2014, 11:30:40 AM »
Welcome.
Where are you based and any pics of her current condition?

Offline Neil C.

• Former_Member
  • Guru's Guru
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2014, 02:04:36 PM »
Is there a sail number stamped on the hull anywhere e.g. transom or main thwart? If the suggested number 1658 is correct, that would correspond to a build in the late 1960's, probably about '67 or '68 at a guess. So getting on for 50 years old! The Spencer 7 was a popular design dating from 1964, and I believe many of them were built in the UK from kits. Not sure whether Barton was a pro boat builder or just the amateur builder / first owner. Whatever, you have a very interesting piece of living history there. If she is in need of rebuild / refurbishment, do post regularly with progress on this forum. There is plenty of advice available from lots of people on here, and quite a lot of old sails / spars etc. around if you need any gear.

Offline HighwaytoHelm

• Former_Member