Author Topic: New mast development for the Laser 2  (Read 9110 times)

Offline Andrew Whapshott

• Class member
  • Apprentice Guru
New mast development for the Laser 2
« on: November 23, 2011, 05:39:53 PM »
A new one piece mast has been made for the laser 2, and was tested on my boat in light winds at Datchet last weekend.

It seemed okay, but I am not an expert and would be interested to hear the opinion of someone with more experience..
We've put together a report, if you could pass on your views/advice it would be greatly appreciated  :-) ,   (Attached below) 

(I know a few of you are ex-L2 sailors.. and as a class you play with masts a lot..)

roland_trim

Re: New mast development for the Laser 2
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2011, 06:34:15 PM »
How much does a new mast cost?

Offline Andrew Whapshott

• Class member
  • Apprentice Guru
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2011, 07:07:35 PM »
~£850 I think.       (We were told the new one piece would be sold at the same cost as the original lower section)

Admittedly a new boat could be brought for this.. But I gather there are already 4/5 future buyers.. 

Offline JimC

• Guru's Assistant
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2011, 10:47:34 AM »
The big advantage of the rig with diamonds is that you don't need shed loads of rig tension to avoid the rig going floppy when the crew gets out on the wire. Bearing in mind your boats are not getting any younger *and* were not designed for the sort of rig tension a spreader rig requires I think you'd be well advised to stick with the diamonds no matter what you do with the tube.

Offline Will_Lee

• Former_Member
  • Guru's Guru
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2011, 11:12:06 AM »
Biggest problem is that it is likely to be much quicker that the two part masts, once they are set up properly.

Offline Andrew Whapshott

• Class member
  • Apprentice Guru
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2011, 04:40:03 PM »